Image Alt

Mission

We see ourselves as an innovation platform and “transmitter” between our research institutes, the Fraunhofer IOSB-INA and the OWL University of Applied Sciences and Arts on the one hand, and our external partners on the other. These include, above all, industrial partners, but also scientists and students, start-ups as well as society and politics. We pursue a participatory research approach in which we integrate players from society, business, politics and science into our technology development.

As a real laboratory and certified test environment for Industry 4.0, the SmartFactoryOWL also offers companies the opportunity to test and further develop their products and technological solutions in ideal and real test conditions using practice-oriented demonstrators on a production area of approx. 2000 sqm.

SmartFactoryOWL

Supported by two strong partners

In October 2009, Fraunhofer IOSB-INA was founded in Lemgo as one of four locations of the Fraunhofer Institute for Optronics, Systems Engineering and Image Exploitation (short: IOSB) focusing on industrial automation technologies. Since the beginning of 2012, it has been expanded in the middle of Ostwestfalen-Lippe to become Germany’s first Fraunhofer Application Center with the support of the state of NRW. The research work of the scientists from Lemgo focuses on cognitive processes in industrial automation based on networked embedded systems. The solutions developed are intended to support people in their work with increasingly complex technical systems. With the assistance systems thus created, machines and systems are given the ability to configure themselves according to the plug-and-play principle or to optimize themselves to a minimum possible energy consumption.

The OWL University of Applied Sciences and Arts, located in Lemgo, is a research university in the technology region of East Westphalia-Lippe with a focus on engineering sciences. For several years it has been one of the 10 strongest research universities for applied sciences in Germany. The Institute for Industrial Information Technology (inIT) of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering plays a major role in this as one of the leading research institutions in the field of intelligent automation. With over 60 employees, the inIT harmonizes information and communication technologies (ICT) with the high demands of automation technology. Due to the cooperation with the research areas “ProErgo- Ergonomic Design of Production Machines” and “DiMan-Direct Digital Manufacturing in the Context of Industry 4.0” from the Department of Production and Economics, the SmartFactoryOWL is able to work on research questions in an interdisciplinary way from the point of view of the technologies used, work organization and personnel deployment.

Image Alt

Mission

Wir verstehen uns als Innovationsplattform und „Transmitter“ zwischen einerseits unseren Forschungseinrichtungen, dem Fraunhofer IOSB-INA sowie der Technischen Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe und andererseits unseren externen Partnern. Dazu zählen vor allem Industriepartner, aber auch Wissenschaftler und Studierende, Start-Ups sowie Gesellschaft und Politik. Hierbei verfolgen wir einen partizipativen Forschungsansatz, in dem wir Akteure aus Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft in unsere Technologieentwicklung integrieren.

Als Reallabor und zertifizierte Testumgebung für Industrie 4.0 bietet die SmartFactoryOWL zudem auf ca. 2000 qm Produktionsfläche die Möglichkeit für Unternehmen, an praxisorientierten Demonstratoren ihre Produkte und technologische Lösungen in ideale und reale Testbedingungen zu erproben und weiterzuentwickeln.

SmartFactoryOWL

Getragen von zwei starken Partnern

Im Oktober 2009 wurde das Fraunhofer IOSB-INA in Lemgo als einer von vier Standorten des Fraunhofer Instituts für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (kurz: IOSB) mit dem Fokus auf industrielle Automatisierungstechnologien gegründet. Seit Anfang 2012 wird es inmitten von Ostwestfalen-Lippe zum deutschlandweit ersten Fraunhofer-Anwendungszentrum mit Unterstützung des Landes NRW ausgebaut. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten der Lemgoer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler stehen kognitive Verfahren in der industriellen Automation auf der Grundlage vernetzter eingebetteter Systeme. Die erarbeiteten Lösungen sollen den Menschen bei der Arbeit mit den komplexer werdenden technischen Systemen unterstützen. Mit den dabei entstehenden Assistenzsystemen erhalten Maschinen und Anlagen die Fähigkeit sich selbst nach dem Plug-and-Play-Prinzip zu konfigurieren oder auf einen minimal möglichen Energieverbrauch selbstständig zu optimieren.

Die Technische Hochschule OWL mit Sitz in Lemgo ist eine forschende Hochschule in der Technologieregion Ostwestfalen-Lippe mit einem Schwerpunkt in den Ingenieurwissenschaften. Sie gehört seit mehreren Jahren zu den 10 forschungsstärksten Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften in Deutschland. Wesentlichen Anteil daran hat das Institut für industrielle Informationstechnik (inIT) des Fachbereichs Elektrotechnik und Technische Informatik als eine der führenden Forschungseinrichtungen auf dem Gebiet der intelligenten Automation. Am inIT werden mit über 60 Mitarbeitern Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT) mit den hohen Anforderungen der Automatisierungstechnik in Einklang gebracht. Durch die Kooperation mit den Forschungsschwerpunkten „ProErgo- Ergonomische Gestaltung von Produktionsmaschinen“ und „DiMan-Direkte digitale Fertigung im Kontext der Industrie 4.0“ aus dem Fachbereich Produktion und Wirtschaft ist es in der SmartFactoryOWL möglich, Forschungsfragen interdisziplinär aus Sicht der eingesetzten Technologien, der Arbeitsorganisation und des Personaleinsatzes zu bearbeiten.