Image Alt
CUNA Production

The production at SmartFactoryOWL

The production at SmartFactoryOWL

PRODUCTION

PEOPLE BEHIND

WHAT WE DO

about

PRODUCTION

About_us
Production

How does the sustainable production of tomorrow works? The fact that technical innovation and environmental protection can harmonize is demonstrated by the cooperative of 10 partners in SmartFactoyOWL, who jointly produce products under the CUNA brand.

CUNA Products GmbH produces reusable cups from CO2-neutral, plant-based material. CUNA, founded in 2018, is characterized by a unique, sustainable concept with a future-proof product idea: the cups are made from a bio-based plastic that dispenses with oil, feature high quality and are reusable as well as recyclable. The special feature: not only is the material used for production made from renewable raw materials sustainable, but also the recycling cycle specially organized by CUNA. For this purpose, a material cycle is created via the return flow of used cups of the pool system, because the ecological reusable cups with the distinctive CUNA flower symbol are mainly used in the deposit system in the catering industry or at festivals.

But that is only the ecological part of the project. In addition, the partners are also bringing to this plastics production the smartness that we have been demonstrating in our factory for some time – and showing what the networked plastics production of tomorrow will look like. The setup of highly modular and automated production is already characterized by a high level of technology use. This will be enriched by networking, artificial intelligence and agile research transfer. In the future, customers will be able to place their orders for CUNA cups online, individualize their products and follow the production of their cups live in the SmartFactoryOWL. The fully digitized and transparent production continuously provides data for the AI real lab, which can be used on open platforms for the development of AI applications.

With this infrastructure, the future of the industrial data economy, which the industry 4.0 platform aims to strengthen together with Fraunhofer IOSB-INA within the project BMWi funded AI Living Lab – with open data, simulations and algorithms – will be collaboratively advanced.

PEOPLE BEHIND

people

People_behind
People behind

In a cooperative of ten partners, CUNA and Fraunhofer IOSB-INA are setting up the innovative manufacturing. They are supported by the following corporate partners.

The medium-sized plastics manufacturing company Hadi-Plast GmbH & Co. KG is responsible for the production management and operation of the production in the SmartFactoryOWL and contributes expertise from many years of injection molding production. The overall design and integration of the system technology is being handled by the renowned German machine manufacturer ARBURG from Lossburg, which is flanked by other industrial partners such as the globally active robotics manufacturer KUKA and the automation specialists fpt Robotik and Barth Mechanik GmbH. A laser system from REA Elektronik GmbH is used for the individualized labeling of the CUNA cups. The material supply is organized by the Herford-based medium-sized company digicolor GmbH, which manufactures, among other things, granulate dryers and ink systems. The simulation company IANUS Simulation uses available production data to permanently optimize the production processes by means of a visualization of the flows.

In this unique constellation, the manufacture of the sustainable cups with fully networked and AI-supported production is located in the SmartFactoryOWL in Lemgo, in the middle of the OWL technology region and the Innovation Campus Lemgo. It becomes an experimental field for Industry 4.0 and artificial intelligence technologies. Fast and agile technology transfer and integration of jointly developed solutions will be the basis for the cooperation of this future-oriented production in the SmartFactoryOWL.

WHAT WE DO

What_we_do
What we do

In several technology projects and use cases, the partners develop new technologies and integrate them into the CUNA real production. Here, research is conducted on the current production and technologies are continuously integrated.

The research pursues the clear strategy of continuously increasing the technological maturity of the production and the product by implementing the use cases. This includes goals such as increasing the modularity and adaptability of production, the transparency of the value chain or the overall sustainability of the product and production. In the following, we present individual selected use cases that are implemented at CUNA real production.

You would like to know more about the story of the CUNA production of you would like to get an insight?

Just contact the office of SmartFactoryOWL

Get an insight?

Image Alt
CUNA Realproduktion

Die Produktion in der
SmartFactoryOWL

Die Produktion in der
SmartFactoryOWL

PRODUKTION

PARTNER

WAS WIR TUN

about

Produktion

About_us
Produktion

Wie funktioniert die nachhaltige Produktion von morgen? Dass technische Innovation und Umweltschutz harmonieren können, zeigt die Kooperative von 10 Partnern in der SmartFactoyOWL, die gemeinsam Produkte der Marke CUNA produzieren.

Die CUNA Products GmbH stellt Mehrwegbecher aus CO2-neutralem, pflanzlichen Material her. CUNA, 2018 gegründet, charakterisiert sich durch ein einzigartiges, nachhaltiges Konzept mit einer zukunftsfähigen Produktidee: Die Becher werden aus einem biobasierten Kunststoff, der auf Öl verzichtet, hergestellt, weisen hohe Qualität auf und sind wiederverwend- sowie recyclebar. Das Besondere: nicht nur das für die Produktion verwendete Material aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen ist nachhaltig, sondern auch der eigens von CUNA organisierte Recyclingkreislauf. Hierzu entsteht über den Rückfluss von genutzten Bechern des Poolsystems ein Materialkreislauf, denn die ökologischen Mehrwegbecher mit dem markanten CUNA Blumensymbol kommen vor allem im Pfandsystem in der Gastronomie oder auf Festivals zum Einsatz.

Doch das ist nur der ökologische Teil des Projekts. Daneben bringen die Partner in diese Kunststoffproduktion auch die Smartness ein, die wir in unserer Fabrik schon seit einiger Zeit demonstrieren – und zeigen, wie die vernetzte Kunststoffproduktion von morgen aussehen wird. Der Aufbau der hochgradig modularen und automatisierten Fertigung kennzeichnet sich bereits jetzt durch ein hohes Level an Technologieeinsatz. Dieses wird durch Vernetzung, Künstliche Intelligenz und agilen Forschungstransfer bereichert. Kunden können künftig online ihre Bestellung von CUNA Bechern aufgeben, ihre Produkte individualisieren und live in der SmartFactoryOWL die Produktion ihrer Becher verfolgen. Die vollumfänglich digitalisierte und transparente Produktion liefert kontinuierlich Daten für das vom BMWi geförderte KI Reallabor, die auf offenen Plattformen für die Entwicklung von KI Anwendungen genutzt werden können.

Mit dieser Infrastruktur wird die Zukunft der industriellen Datenwirtschaft, die die Plattform Industrie 4.0 gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer IOSB-INA im Rahmen des KI Reallabors durch Erforschung von Technologien – mit offenen Daten, Simulationen und Algorithmen – stärken möchte, kollaborativ vorangetrieben.

Partner

people

People_behind
Partner

In einer Kooperative aus zehn Partnern stellen CUNA GmbH und das Fraunhofer IOSB-INA die innovative Fertigung auf die Beine. Hierbei werden sie durch folgende Unternehmenspartner unterstützt.

Der mittelständische Kunststoffverarbeiter Hadi-Plast GmbH & Co. KG hat die Produktionsleitung und den Betrieb der Fertigung in der SmartFactoryOWL inne und bringt hierbei Expertise aus jahrelanger Spritzgussfertigung ein. Die Gesamtkonzeption und Integration der Anlagentechnik übernimmt federführend der namhafte deutsche Maschinenhersteller ARBURG GmbH & Co. KG aus Loßburg, der flankiert wird von weiteren Industriepartnern, wie dem weltweit agierenden Robotik-Hersteller KUKA Deutschland GmbH sowie den Automatisierungsspezialisten fpt Robotik GmbH & Co. KG und der Barth Mechanik GmbH. Für die individualisierte Beschriftung der CUNA Becher kommt ein Lasersystem der REA Elektronik GmbH zum Einsatz. Die Materialversorgung wird von dem Herforder Mittelständler digicolor GmbH organisiert, der unter anderem Granulattrockner und Farbsysteme herstellt. Das Simulationsunternehmen IANUS Simulation GmbH nutzt verfügbare Daten der Produktion zur dauerhaften Optimierung der Produktionsprozesse anhand einer Visualisierung der Strömungen.

In dieser einzigartigen Konstellation wird mit einer vollumfänglich vernetzten und KI-gestützten Produktion die Herstellung der nachhaltigen Becher in der SmartFactoryOWL in Lemgo, inmitten der Technologieregion OWL und des Innovation Campus Lemgo, verortet und zu einem Experimentierfeld für Technologien der Industrie 4.0 und Künstlichen Intelligenz. Schneller und agiler Technologietransfer und -integration von gemeinsam entwickelten Lösungen werden die Grundlage der Zusammenarbeit dieser zukunftsweisenden Produktion in der SmartFactoryOWL darstellen.

Was wir tun

What_we_do
Was wir tun

In mehreren Technologieprojekten und Use Cases entwickeln die Partner neue Technologien und integrieren diese in die CUNA Realproduktion. Hier wird an der laufenden Produktion geforscht und Technologien werden kontinuierlich integriert.

Dabei verfolgt die Forschung die klare Strategie, den technologischen Reifegrad der Produktion und des Produkts kontinuierlich durch die Umsetzung der Use Cases zu erhöhen. Dies umfasst Ziele wie die Erhöhung der Modularität und Wandlungsfähigkeit der Produktion, der Transparenz der Wertschöpfungskette oder der gesamten Nachhaltigkeit des Produkts und der Produktion. Bald stellen wir einzelne ausgewählte Use Cases an dieser Stelle detailliert vor und begleiten deren technologische Umsetzung live an der CUNA Realproduktion.

Sie wollen mehr über die Entstehungsgeschichte der CUNA Realproduktion erfahren oder einen Einblick erlangen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns gern in der Geschäftsstelle der SmartFactoryOWL!

Einmal reinschauen?